>dee’s buttermilk pancakes

Jeff’s mom made these when we were home for Easter.  (Thanks for sending the recipe, Dee.)  We made them for our traditional Sunday breakfast this week.  I (of course) added fresh fruit and whipped cream, as you’ll see in the photo.  I like to go all out when I’m eating my pancakes, and since I don’t at all care for maple syrup, I grab the whipped cream and strawberry syrup.  The fruit is always a must as well.

Buttermilk Pancakes

2 cups flour
1 tsp soda
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup shortening (I use butter)
½ tsp salt
2 ¼ cup buttermilk
2 eggs

Mix sugar, shortening, and eggs. Add flour, salt and soda mixture alternately with buttermilk. Mix all with wire whip or spoon. Do not use mixer. Make pancakes on med-high heat griddle.

Note: Mixture will be thick but if too thick may add a little more buttermilk.

Leave a Reply

