the crumble that wasn’t

Frustrating.  One word sums it up.  All I wanted was a strawberry rhubarb crumble topped with a nice scoop of ice cream.  Not so easy when trying to juggle three recipes at once.  Should’ve known.  That, and being unprepared.  I always tell my daughter to practice her patience, but maybe I should be telling myself more often.  I was rushing and skimming over the recipe much too quickly.  Something just wasn’t right as I peered through the oven door.  This certainly wasn’t a crumble and it was quickly turning to mush.  Aha! 

Halfway through the bake time, I figured it out.  Why hadn’t I used that cup of flour?  Ugh.  I tried to improvise and opened the oven door, pulled the rack out and sprinkled the cup of flour evenly across the top of the bubbly mess.  (It was supposed to have been mixed with the room temperature butter and brown sugar, then formed in a ball and crumbled in large chunks across the chopped fruit.)  Just wasn’t happening this time. 

My rhubarb was a transplant from my mom’s plant (grown with love and shared with so many).  Last year, the plant was much too new and didn’t produce much for harvesting.  This year, it’s had a few shoots that have been worthy of pulling.  Still sparse, but getting bigger – and isn’t it supposed to produce more, the more you pull from it?  Maybe.  I’ve pulled a few and have not had more than about a cup and a half (chopped), but I’m still hopeful.  Anyways, found an O Magazine recipe for rhubarb crumble and since I didn’t have enough rhubarb, I decided to fill in the shortage with extra strawberries.  I was so excited to try it! 

The flavors were still characteristic of a rhubarb dessert – sweet and tart and yummy.  I will try again.  And, next time, I will read the recipe very carefully.

Rhubarb Crumble
adapted from Oprah’s magazine (originally from Catherine Newman)
Servings: Serves 8
 
Ingredients
 
  • 2 pounds rhubarb , cut into 1-inch pieces (about 6 cups)
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 stick unsalted butter , cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • Vanilla ice cream , for serving (optional)
Directions
Preheat oven to 375°. To make filling, put rhubarb, granulated sugar, 1/4 cup flour, and vanilla into a 9″ x 13″ baking dish and toss well to combine; set aside.To make crumble topping, put remaining 1 cup flour, light brown sugar, butter, and salt into a large bowl and toss well. Using your fingertips, rub butter into dry ingredients until mixture resembles coarse meal. Working with one small handful at a time, squeeze dough together to make a ball, then gently break it into chunks and scatter them on rhubarb filling in baking dish.Bake until rhubarb is very tender and bubbly and crumble topping is golden brown, about 30 minutes. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream if desired; spoon any leftovers into bowls and eat cold for breakfast.  Enjoy!
One comment

  1. That’s what makes a good cook….trial and error! Looks like it might have tasted pretty good… 🙂
    Love, Kimm

Leave a Reply

