i’m inspired. two fantastic cookbook finds.

I had a Barnes and Noble gift card to use and a little free time one morning last weekend, so I stopped and browsed the shelves.  I could literally spend hours looking through cookbooks, especially those with the tasteful photographs.  The kind that get your mouth watering just looking.  That and the ingredients.  There’s something really special about reading the recipe – it’s as though you’re actually making it in your head – you can almost taste the flavors coming together, without ever eating anything.  Powerful.  Those are the cookbooks done well.  Yes, I get a lot of my recipes online, but there’s still something magical about a brand new cookbook.  I picked up two, and I’ve already used post it notes to mark the recipes I know I want to try for sure.  I’m inspired by the following finds…

My Father’s Daughter by Gwyneth Paltrow
Delicious, Easy Recipes Celebrating Family & Togetherness

So far, only leafed through from cover to end, but I love what I’ve read so far.  The recipes are very doable and she’s added short stories to go with each of them.  She also incorporates some of her kitchen wisdom and other tips.  I’m inspired by so many recipes in this book, particularly maple-dijon roasted winter vegetables and polenta with fresh corn.  I must start making my grocery list and begin my quest for what she refers to as “the well-stocked pantry.”

Elegant Entrees by Jane Price
Main Dishes for Every Occasion

I will likely try every recipe in this book.  Canja, Thai Green Chicken Curry, Giant Shell Pasta with Ricotta and Arugula, Tandoori Chicken with Cardamom Rice, and more. 

Stay tuned for my pending successes and/or failures, or better named, tmk’s Food Chronicles…?

Leave a Reply

