beets with goat cheese

I’m not a big fan of beets, but I am forcing myself to like them.  About twice a year, I buy them and try them again, just in case my palate gives way to a newfound liking.  A couple of weeks ago, I bought some fresh beets and boiled them until tender.  I drained them, carefully peeled the skins off (and still managed to stain my shirt with the ruby red beet juice.)  I sliced them, cooled to room temperature and served them with a dollop of goat cheese, a dash of sea salt and fresh, ground black pepper. 

Sorry for the out of focus picture.  Some days, my photography is less than par.  I must have forgotten to set to Macro for the close-up.

I think I can eat them this way… and, I think I may like them just a teensy bit.  Hmmm.  Funny how that works.  I think the general rule of “you have to try something at least 10-15 times before you like it” is a valid one.  Next time, I may get a little more adventurous and see if I can get my kids and husband to start eating them.

Leave a Reply

