scalloped potatoes

Another inspiration.  Last summer, I recall having some amazing scalloped potatoes at my aunt Jocelyn’s.  I also read a blog post for cheesy scalloped potatoes (among many other amazing recipes) and it reminded me of how I wanted to make them at home as well.  I combined my aunt’s recipe with my friend’s recipe and thought they turned out pretty well.  The only disappointment for me, was that my sauce seemed to curdle when I took the dish out of the oven.  Bummer.  Could it have been my attempt to compromise and use less of the heavy cream and instead, use whole milk for part of the recipe?  Or, did I overbake them?  Or, was it because I bumped up the heat in the end?  Ugh.  Anyways, they were still good.

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes (my aunt Jocelyn’s recipe)

Thinly slice russet potatoes and start with a layer on bottom of deep glass baking dish.  Sprinkle with garlic salt & pepper and sprinkle grated cheddar cheese.  Repeat layers of potatoes, garlic salt, pepper and grated cheddar until dish is 3/4 full.  Then pour cream over until almost to top.  Bake at 350 degrees (covered) until tender when poked with a fork (about an hour or so.)  I removed the foil at the end to brown up the top.  Let sit for awhile until sauce thickens up a bit.

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes (TandK Sunday Supper’s recipe)

1 cup chopped onion (1 large)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup butter or margarine
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2-1/2 cups milk
8 cups thinly sliced red, white, long white, or yellow potatoes (about 2 1/2 pounds)
directions
For sauce, in a medium saucepan cook onion and garlic in hot butter until tender. Stir in flour, salt, and pepper. Add milk all at once. Cook and stir over medium heat until thickened and bubbly.  Place half the sliced potatoes in a greased 3-quart rectangular dish. Top with half the sauce. Repeat layers.  Bake, covered, in a 350 degree F oven for 45 minutes. Uncover and bake for 40 to 50 minutes more or until potatoes are tender. Let stand, uncovered, for 10 minutes before serving.  Makes 10 servings

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes: Prepare as above, except gradually add 1-1/2 cups shredded cheddar, Gruyère, or Swiss cheese (6 ounces) to the thickened sauce, stirring until cheese melts.
Leave a Reply

