vietnamese spring rolls

I saw a recipe for these in the Sunday paper and I decided to try them out.  We were due for an Asian night at our house and most of the ingredients in the recipe were those I was familiar with – garlic, ginger, carrots, shrimp, cucumber, red pepper, lettuce, cilantro.  Spring roll wrappers? 

I found them in the Asian aisle shelf stable section at the grocery store.  Pretty simple – soak them in warm water for 30 seconds or so, and they are ready to roll – literally. They’re a bit tricky to roll or get a tight fit and I’m still trying to master the technique.  They can be filled with whatever you’d like – chicken, beef, shrimp, tofu, rice vermicelli, and any combination of vegetables.

This recipe is a combination of one I found in the Sunday paper and one that was online. Mise en place is necessary for this one, but if you do it ahead of time, all you have to do is assemble the rolls.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls
Makes about 8 rolls

Spring Rolls

1 lb. cooked shrimp (I cut mine into chunks, but could leave whole)
carrots, shredded (I used the pre-packaged carrot sticks)
cucumbers, diced into thin wedges
red pepper, cut into strips
green onion, diced
romaine lettuce, shredded
fresh cilantro leaves
fresh basil leaves
8 large spring roll wrappers – 8.5 in diameter

Sauce
4 teaspoons fish sauce
1/4 cup water
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons white sugar
1/2 teaspoon garlic chili sauce

I wrapped my sauce in with the spring roll ingredients, but next time, I’ll serve the sauce on the side for dipping. Enjoy!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

