grandma irene’s krumkake

Check that one off my to-do list.  And, a first in 2012.  Teamwork at its best – Jeff and I in the kitchen making krumkake together.   Not bad for our first attempt.

Krumkake – a delicate, traditional Scandinavian waffle cookie, full of beautiful design and commonly made around Christmas time.  (Usually shaped in a cone or rolled.)  I remember eating these around Christmas as a kid.  I was fortunate to inherit my Grandma Irene’s krumkake iron set, a family heirloom that just shouts Norwegian.

Loved and handled with care and used many a Christmas, well before my time.  I can almost see my Grandma making them and I’m so proud to carry on the tradition with my own family.  I know this will be one of the favorites each holiday – I can’t wait to make them again.

It took some trial and error, but ultimately, we seem to have mastered the technique (at least in our eyes…)  In fact, once we got it down, we could barely make them fast enough to keep up with Brendan and Dane’s demand.  They LOVED the krumkake.  “It’s so good, Mom.  Can I have another one?”

The first couple of attempts ended in results like this:

Here’s how I so fondly remember them…

Krumkake

4 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 cup melted butter
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp vanilla

Beat eggs slightly. Add sugar to eggs and beat until light. Do not overbeat. Add vanilla. Blend in melted, cooled butter, cornstarch and flour.

Preheat iron on both sides. Iron is ready for baking when a few drops of water placed on the iron dance around. Drop about a tablespoon of dough on the center of the iron. Cover quickly and turn the iron. Bake until delicately browned. Remove from iron with a spatula or table knife. Roll quickly into cone shape (rolled diploma), using a krumkake roller or end of wooden spoon.  I actually used my hands. Dust with confectioner’s sugar, if desired.  Can also be pressed into cups to make shell forms.

*Note* – We found medium-low heat for about a minute on our gas stove worked perfectly.

Here’s my Grandma Irene’s krumkake recipe card, which was with the krumkake iron set.  (Similar to another recipe I received from my mother-in-law and other recipes online.)  Some recipes call for the addition of cardamom, but we used vanilla instead.  We may also try almond extract next time we make them.  Enjoy!

2 comments

  1. I LOVE your food blog! This one caught my eye because I too had a Grandma Irene, AND I inherited her krumkake iron. Every year, I invite my two brothers and Dad over just prior to Christmas to make krumkake. I also have her original recipe. She had notes for each year she made it. The last year on the recipe card, she noted how tiring it was. We have continued the tradition of documenting each year we make it. We haven’t tried the cardamon version either; instead alternating between vanilla and almond 🙂

Leave a Reply

